General Assembly elects Pieter Schuurs as new Chairman and Jean-François Conil-Lacoste as new Board member

Brussels, 25 May 2016 | Yesterday, at its annual meeting in Leipzig, Germany, the General Assembly of Europex, elected Pieter Schuurs, President & COO of ICE Endex, as the new Chairman of the Association. In addition, Jean-François Conil-Lacoste, Chairman of the Management Board of EPEX SPOT, was elected to the Europex Board. He joins the other five Board members already in office: Egbert Laege (Powernext), Ireneusz Łazor (TGE), Mikael Lundin (Nord Pool), Pedro J. Mejía Gómez (OMIE) and Pieter Schuurs (ICE Endex). The elections were a consequence of the departure of Massimo Ricci from GME earlier this year.

The members of the General Assembly expressed their gratitude to Massimo Ricci and thanked him for his service and dedication over the past three years in his role as Europex Chairman. After a major organisational reform of Europex in 2013, Ricci had been the first Europex Chairperson and had contributed significantly to strengthening the role of Europex and promoting the interests of exchange-based energy wholesale trading in Europe.

In addition, the memberships of the Istanbul Energy Exchange (EPİAŞ) and the Independent Bulgarian Energy Exchange (IBEX) have been reconfirmed by the Europex General Assembly after their provisional admission at the beginning of this year. Both are now full members of the Association.