Europex General Assembly elects Jonas Törnquist as new Board Member and makes its farewell to Jean-François Conil-Lacoste

Brussels, 12 October 2018 | Related to the announced end of his mandate as Chairman and CEO of EPEX SPOT on 13 October 2018, Jean-François Conil-Lacoste will simultaneously resign from his current role as Europex Board member in which he has served since May 2016.

On behalf of Europex and its members, Pieter Schuurs, Europex Chairman, thanked Jean-François Conil- Lacoste for his active involvement and dedication for the Association of European Energy Exchanges over the past sixteen years. In this context, he highlighted that “Jean-François was one of the six founding members of Europex back in 2002 when EU energy markets were still in their infancy and has always supported international cooperation between energy exchanges to drive market liberalisation. Jean- François has been actively supporting the Association ever since, serving as Europex Chairman between 2009 and 2011 and as Europex Board member for the last two and half years. In addition, he has been continuously involved as Europex GA member for sixteen years, initially for Powernext and later on behalf of EPEX SPOT. Europex is deeply thankful and owes him gratitude for his long-standing support. On a personal note, I would like to thank Jean-François for his valuable contribution to the functioning of the Board and wish him all the best for his future plans.”

Given the vacancy, the Europex General Assembly elected a new Board member, namely Jonas Törnquist, COO and Member of the Management Board at EPEX SPOT. On his election, Christian Baer, Secretary General of Europex, remarked: “Jonas is a highly experienced and dedicated exchange representative and has a deep understanding of both the business as well as the regulatory side of energy trading. I look forward to working with him in promoting efficient, transparent and liquid energy markets for Europe.”